SEARCH   |    SITE MAP   |    CONTACT   |    HELP
"On air. On sea. On land. Still the Internet's greatest wargame simulation."

This file contains a list of known contributors to Empire (either in coding, testing, ideas or moral support. :) )

Empire is a multi-player, client/server Internet based war game. It is distributed in two main parts, a server, where the game actually runs, and clients that connect to the server. The server portion ships with a basic client. This basic client is also available seperately. There are also many third-party clients available.

Empire is based on a game written in the late 70s/early 80s by Peter Langston. Since he wouldn't give out the source code, a large reverse engineering/re-coding project was undertaken to create a new version of this game and make the source available for all. Since that time, the Empire code has changed drastically and been re-written numerous times, and none of that original code exists (other than in fond memories) in this code base anymore.

There have been various "stages" of Empire development. At this point in time (2003) there have been 5 major stages identified, each with a leading author. They are as follows (with successsive projects building on the projects before it):

It is due to these above people pulling projects together that the Empire server has gotten to where it is today.

Empire is copyrighted and released by the 5 people above under the GNU GPL. See the "LEGAL", "LICENSE", "CREDITS" and "README" files for all the related information and legal notices. It is expected that any future projects/authors will amend these files as needed. The source files have been updated to reflect this license, and much erroneous data (such as bogus file headers) has been fixed.

Empire source code has always been freely available, with the intent of it always being freely available, it was just never properly copyrighted or licensed until the first release under the GNU GPL (4.2.0) It is our goal to keep Empire source free and available at all times.

Also see the "History" info file for a more detailed listing of the history of Empire.

Currently (2003), Empire development is being led by the Wolfpack team. You can find them at "" or e-mail "".

In addition, the people below are recognized as having either given code to the above authors, submitted patches, helped on various aspects of the projects (such as info pages), play tested, submitted bug reports, bounced ideas, etc.

Many of the source files have no listed known contributors due to the fact that many, many people contributed anonymously. For those where we knew who contributors were, we listed them in the header. It is hoped that in the future contributors will put their names into this list at the top of the file, and that new files have the same type of header applied to them for future tracking (though obviously it is not required.)

We are sure that the list below is most likely incomplete, and anyone who doesn't see your name on the below list, don't be offended, we didn't mean it! Just send us an e-mail letting us know and we'll be more than happy to add you. Also, let us know your latest e-mail address if you'd like it included.


James Anderson (
Jeff Anton (
Markus Armbruster
Jeff Bailey (
Mark Ballinger
Jan van Beethoven
Paul Byrne
Geoff Cashman
Bill Canning
Trannie Carter
Sean Casey
David Davis
Aaron Dewell (
Jorge Diaz
Drake Diedrich (
Yaser Doleh
Ed Down
Phill Everson (
Scott Ferguson
Robert Forsman (
Bill Frolick
Steven Grady
Keith Graham
Jim Griffith (griffith@scam.Berkeley.EDU)
Steven Grimm (koreth@ucscb.UCSC.EDU)
Karl Hagen
Doug Hay (
Ken Huisman
Lewis R. Jansen (
Mike St. Johns (
Beorn Johnson
William S. Kaster
Jeremy Kennebel
Kevin Klemmick
Ron Kuris (
Nick Lai (
Phil Lapsley
Curtis Larsen
Robert A. Larson (
Jonathan Lee
Craig Leres
Dan Logcher (
Pat Loney (
Shelley Louie (
Steve McClure (
Chris Metcalf (
Sasha Mikheev
Kevin Morgan
Richard Moss
Keith Muller (
Chuck Musciano (
Dave Nye
Kevin O'Connor
Jeff Okamoto (
Julian Onions (
Jim Ortlieb
Dave Pare (
Gregory Paris
Kurt Pires (
Brett Reid
Bernhard Reiter (breiter@mathematik.Uni-Osnabrueck.DE)
Jim Reuter (
James Risner (
Thomas Ruschak (
Edward M. Rynes
David Muir Sharnoff (
Alex Shatsky
Walter Smith
Ken Stevens (
Michael Straub
Tom Tedrick
Sam Tetherow
Yannick Tremblay (
Janjaap van Velthooven
Ville Virrankoski
Peter Vukovich (
Jeff Wallace (
Sverker Wiberg
Mike Wise
John Yockey (
Chad Zabel